Definition of Feminism

6 Jan

Cansu Karamustafa: “Feminism is a struggle of freedom which is against all sexist and patriarchal ways of thinking. It stands on an important point for me because it questions the structure of society, and means a change for everybody in it.”

Senem Donatan: “Actually what I like about feminism is it changes; something which is not changing is against life, because life is always changing and so is the feminist ideology. And realizing the environment changes, it gives an answer to it. My feminism is like that. That’s why I think feminism is important in my life.”

Hilal Esmer: “A lot of women here give nice academic definitions; I see feminism as all parts of life, not just about women’s rights. I don’t want rights. I don’t accept equality. I reject the whole system from the bottom- up.”

Hazal Halavut: “First of all I experience feminism personally as it brought me freedom, because I realized I categorized myself. And all these categories and discourses about being women limited my life. Realizing these categories brought me the chance to remake myself and realize myself, personally. Feminism is a never ending process of thinking about one’s self, the world surrounding you, and seeing what’s around you, from a gendered perspective (…).

Feminism is the union of theory and practice; you can never separate them. The more you practice the more you understand theory, and vice versa (…).

Masculinity is everywhere around the world and we must always find new ways to see it and a strategy to handle it. (…) to criticize it you need to be creative, because struggles have all kinds of traditions. The Turkish left has established traditions, but always a masculine way of struggle. You have to switch the way you think and act (…). I don’t want to be on the street shouting like man and showing my masculinity in order to show how powerful I am.”

Esen Özdemir: “Feminism struggles against the systems. I describe feminism as an area imminent in all power relations. Feminism moves with other movements which are theoretical, and they put it into practice: anti-militarism, anti-war, the LGBTQ-movement.”

Yasemin Öz: “Feminism is an ideology for me; it covers all my political issues and questions even about economy and state structure. I found my answers from feminism, about all questions in life. It means I have all the rights as any person on earth, not being discriminated because I’m a women and a lesbian. All my life I have struggled against an attitude of inequality; ‘you are a woman and not allowed to do that’. Feminism gives me the power and the organization to struggle against the inequalities I face in social life.

Globally all structures are patriarchal, because people giving decisions about society are men. Well educated people are men. Academics and scientists are men (…). The reasons for war, capitalism, and states, are the patriarchal structure as the starting point of making a hierarchal structure. It was the first hierarchy; hierarchy of men over women was the first hierarchy. So if we can’t be free from hierarchy of men over women, we can’t be free at all.”

Leave a Reply

