Involvement in Amargi

6 Jan

Cansu Karamustafa: “I knew Amargi since the opening of the feminist bookstore and café in 2007.”

Hazal Halavut: “I didn’t come to Amargi because I thought it is the perfect organization for me, but I was convinced I had to start at some point. At Amargi I could be myself and still be a member of the organization. I didn’t have to give up my independence.”

Hilal Esmer: “I worked as a jeweler at the Turkish grand bazaar in Istanbul for a couple of years in a very sexist environment. No women in this sector, but lots of hierarchy. I felt separated from this sector and got involved in Amargi, saw photos in the newspapers of Pınar Selek, when she got out of jail and read about Amargi, because this organization was newly formed. (…) After a long search I found Amargi finally and met with women, spoke with them but didn’t understand because they were not organized. I expected a NGO, but it seemed that this group of women just getting together.”

Senem Donatan: “First I did a lot of collaboration with Istek, a women’s group. I was a member of the peace movement in Turkey and for example went to Iraqi border to protest the war. Then in 2003 we founded a theater group. This was a collaboration of Istek and Amargi, but still an autonomous group not totally involved in Amargi.”

Yasemin Öz: “I was living in Ankara and knew Amargi was open to lesbians. In 2002 I heard about Pınar Selek, because of her book on transgender women. I knew she was a feminist and open about discussion on sexual identity (…). When I moved to Istanbul, I met Pınar and we became close friends, because our political point of views are very similar and her work in the LGBT community and her questions and struggles are very important to me.”

One Response to “Involvement in Amargi”

  1. Ernestina Coello January 9, 2012 at 1:08 am #

    Ernestina Coello. Guadalajara Spain. I was visiting Istanbul in a working educational tour and looking for a feminist group in the area had the change to attend the opening of the new library of Amargi near Taksim square. I was amazed to find such a lively gathering of young people ,men and women at the event.It was a pleasure to talk to some of the persons attending and to find out about the issues you were dealing with at that time.I was told about the Spanish women,even from Guadalajara, who regularly visit the Turkish organization searching for inspiration in feminism.We are going to Istanbul again in March and hope to visit you again to find out more about your works and deeds.www.mujeresinternacionales.org

Leave a Reply

